RSS

The Logic behind Zip Codes

26 Jul

I was always wondering about why we use zip codes? What’s the logic behind it? Because I used to memorize 5 digits in a zip code and after some time there were four and five digits. I couldn’t understand it and it was also hard to memorize. None of my friends gave me a satisfactory answer. I searched on internet by myself for zip codes by city and twos and I found that in Canada they use area codes along with the address and number which is the same approach used by telephone companies.

zip codes by city

I also found that the word zip code actually means “zoning improvement program” which was introduced in order to simplify the mailing and postal services in the US and that each district has an individual zip code. US have been divided in to 10 geographical areas and its purpose is to define the regions and states. The first digit of the zip code is for the 10 areas, and the remaining 4 digits break these areas further into more specific and accurate regions.

The USPS is running on a very huge budget and it has millions of employees who are continuously working on zip codes. They can find any location or zip codes by city. Their mission is to provide excellent services to the public and they are quite good in their profession.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 26, 2011 in Zip Codes

 

Tags:

Leave a comment